The dean’s office is the central switchboard of the faculty. The dean is the chairman of the faculty board and represents the Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Theology to the outside world. He or she supervises the current affairs of the faculty. As a member of the extended university board, the dean represents the faculty in the university administration. The Dean presides the meetings of the faculty council and the faculty board and carries out its decisions.

Prof. Dr. Rainer Trinczek

  • Organization: Department of Sociology
  • Working group: Chair of Sociology I (Prof. Dr. Trinczek)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-23029
  • Email:

The vice deans support and represent the dean in his/her duties. They are elected by the faculty council for two years.

Vice Deans

Prof. Dr. Charlotte Köckert

  • Organization: Department of Historical Theology
  • Working group: Chair of Historical Theology (Ancient Church History) (Prof. Dr. Köckert)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-22209
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Pfeiffer

  • Organization: Department Fachdidaktiken
  • Working group: Professorship for Music Education (Prof. Dr. Pfeiffer)
  • Phone number: +49 911 5302-552
  • Email:

Vice Dean for Research

Prof. Dr. Roland Sturm

  • Organization: Institute for Political Science
  • Working group: Chair of Political Science I (Prof. Dr. Sturm)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-22370
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Frieder R. Lang

  • Organization: Institut of Psychogerontology
  • Working group: Chair of Psychogerontology
  • Phone number: +49 (0)911 5302-96102
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Florian Kragl

  • Job title: Sprecher Department Germanistik und Komparatistik
  • Organization: Department of German Language and Literature
  • Working group: Professorship of Germanic and German Philology
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-29354
  • Email:

Vice Dean for Internationalization

Prof. Dr. Lutz Edzard

  • Organization: Institute for Near Eastern and East Asian Languages and Civilizations
  • Working group: Chair of Arabic and Semitic Studies
  • Phone number: +49 (0)9131 85 22444
  • Email:

Vice Deans for Teacher training

Prof. Dr. Charlotte Bühl-Gramer

  • Job title: Lehrstuhlinhaberin
  • Organization: Department Fachdidaktiken
  • Working group: Chair of Teaching of History
  • Phone number: +49 911 5302-556
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Herbst

  • Job title: Vorstand
  • Organization: Department of English and American Studies
  • Working group: Chair of English Philology and Linguistics (Prof. Dr. Herbst)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-22936
  • Email:

According to Article 30 of the BayHSchG, the faculties’ vice deans for academic affairs act to ensure the studyability of the degree programmes within the standard study period, to guarantee the correspondence between the course offer and the examination and study regulations and the duly performed supervision of the students. They come from among the professors and are elected by the faculty council for three years. In their capacity as vice deans for academic affairs, they are members of the commission for teaching and study of the faculty (PhilLuSt) and make recommendations for further development in the field of teaching and study on faculty level.

Prof. Dr. Eva Breindl

  • Organization: Department of German Language and Literature
  • Working group: Professur für Germanistische Linguistik mit Schwerpunkt Deutsch als Fremdsprache
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-23938
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Magdalena Michalak

  • Job title: Lehrstuhlinhaberin / Studiendekanin
  • Organization: Department Fachdidaktiken
  • Working group: Chair for Teaching German as a Second Language (Prof. Dr. Michalak)
  • Phone number: 0911-5302-9409
  • Email:

Prof. Dr. Henrik Pfeiffer

  • Organization: Department of Old Testament
  • Working group: Chair of Old Testamant I (Prof. Dr. Pfeiffer)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-22204
  • Email:

The Diversity Representative of the Faculty aims at fostering diversity, equality and equal opportunities among students and teachers, as well as in research and teaching. The Faculty is the first and only one that included this office in its equality concept, adopted in December 2012 and recognized by the university leadership as the best equality concept of the FAU.

Further Information (German)


Prof. Dr. Georg Seiderer

  • Organization: Department of History
  • Working group: Professur für Neuere Bayerische und Fränkische Landesgeschichte und Volkskunde (Prof. Dr. Seiderer)
  • Phone number: +49 9131 85-22789
  • Email: